You know where you are?

You in the Jungle, baby!

Descending from Barillas I could feel it breathing – hot, sweaty, sticky gasps wafted through the vines .  My lungs waved a sad goodbye to the chilly pine-fresh air of the Cuchumatanes, as me and twenty-two of my new friends crammed into the Ixcán bound pickup.

Jungles and roads don´t get along well.  People don´t fare any better in the humid realm of snakes and mosquitoes. With each bite they remind me that I don´t belong, a mere passerby to be used and abused.  I felt like a smorgasbord and wondered ¨why did I come here again?¨

The answer: Laguna Lachuá.  A breezy blue oasis in a suffocating mass of green.  Carved out by a meteor in the middle of the jungle, inaccessibility and lack of facilities keep this wonder almost virgin.

I´d been trekking all over Guatemala the last seven months and I never thought a 4km walk could be so exhausting.  Luckily the payoff was more than worth it.  Memories of heavy packs and sweaty steps quickly faded as I dunked into the crystalline waters.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jake on 19 July, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    The Jungle Nordquist is the rarest of all Nordquists.
    Not a species known for quick adaptation to humid climes.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erika on 25 July, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Ohh you went there, lucky you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

