Nomadic Base Camp

There comes a time in every outdoor badass’s life that he lives out of a car/van/truck and does awesome things.  Admittedly, my Rad-O-Meter has a long way to go before I get there.  Nevertheless, I figured I might as well start preparing myself for future explorations of Gnar.  Ever since I saw my first dirtbags on a climbing trip to Squamish, B.C., I’ve dreamed of getting a truck and converting it into a mobile base camp.

Ticket to adventure

Notes:

This is definitely version 1.0.  I got easily inspired by the rigs at BajaTaco and some fellow Yota drivers but decided to keep it as cheap and as simple as possible.  I put the sleeping platform above the bed shackles for a nice fit, but I could probably get by with less storage and be able to enjoy more headroom.  The beam running down the middle  not only provides support, but will help separate and organize gear. I plan to test different mattress set-ups to find the balance between headroom and comfort.

Luckily, I have a real home for a while, so I can experiment all winter long before actually moving in.  Future plans include trap-door style storage, power supplies, lighting and maybe even refrigeration.  Stay tuned for further developments.

Leave a Reply

